Atlantic Provinces

Council of Atlantic Ministers of Education (CAMET)

The Atlantic provinces’ departments of education agree that students’ needs can be well met if there are clearly articulated statements of what students are expected to know and be able to do by the time they graduate from high school, if the curriculum reflects these expectations, and if the provinces can accurately assess students’ achievement of them.

Public school curriculum in Atlantic Canada will consist of two components: (1) the common core curriculum which is developed regionally, and (2) the remainder which continues to be developed provincially. The common core curriculum for the Atlantic region includes programs in mathematics, science and language arts, grades 1-12.

Additional information on curriculum in each of the Atlantic provinces may be found on their individual web sites:

New Brunswick

Newfoundland and Labrador

Nova Scotia

Prince Edward Island